Buscar Música

Pinback is an indie rock band from San Diego, California, currently signed to Temporary Residence Ltd. The band was formed in 1998 by singers, songwriters and multi-instrumentalists Armistead Burwell Smith IV and Rob Crow. Tom Zinser, Chris Prescott, and Mario Rubalcaba have all contributed drums to the band's albums. Aside from Smith and Crow, the current line-up of the live band is: Chris Prescott, Erik Hoversten, and Braden Diotte. Past members of the Pinback live band are: Terrin Durfey, Ryan Bromley, Cameron Jones, Kenseth Thibideau, Tom Zinser, Gabriel Voiles, Dmitri Dziensuwski, Donny Van Zandt, and Thatcher Orbitachi.

The band's moniker is a reference to a character in the film Dark Star (played by Dan O'Bannon, who also co-wrote the film), directed by John Carpenter. Audio samples from this film are used frequently in the band's early works.

Pinback's most recent album Autumn of the Seraphs was released on September 11, 2007. The band also recently released a collection of rarities, entitled Nautical Antiques. They appeared live in a nationally broadcast interview and played a couple of songs on NPR's Talk of the Nation on October 8, 2007, available for download via NPR's website.

On April 1, 2009, it was announced that Pinback was working on a new album, due 2011, and that it would be released by Temporary Residence Ltd.