Buscar Música
New Zealand

Rhian Sheehan is a New Zealand music composer and producer born in Nelson and now based in Wellington.

Sheehan released his first album in 2001 Paradigm Shift, and has since released two albums as well as a compilation of remixes of his work by other New Zealand and international artists. His 2009 album Standing in Silence is a step away from his earlier ‘downbeat’ work into more of a shoegaze and post-rock ambient soundtrack direction. Standing in Silence has been critically acclaimed.

Sheehan’s work has featured on variety of CD compilations, most notably the multi-platinum selling Cafe del Mar CD compilations (vol 10 & 11). Sheehan has also written music that has appeared regularly on UK BBC television programming, including the top rating Top Gear, as well as The Discovery Channel and the National Geographic channel. His music has also been heard in a variety of TV commercials, movie trailers and short films. In 2009 he composed the soundtrack to the UK's National Space Centre's We Are Astronomers, a 360° Full Dome Film narrated by Doctor Who's David Tennant. In 2009 Sheehan composed the score to the 13 part prime-time TV Drama series The Cult, (for which he was awarded a Qantas Film & TV Award for best original score) and the Emmy Award winning series Reservoir Hill. He predominantly writes music for film and television.