Buscar Música

Takka Takka is a band from Brooklyn, New York that has been performing since 2004 and whose members include Gabe Levine, Grady Jurrens, Conrad Doucette and newest members Rene Planchon and Drew Thurlow.

Takka Takka began when Gabe returned from a "near-disastrous" year in Texas. Back in Brooklyn, he began recording demos of new material, and recruited some old friends to help him work out a live set. Takka Takka soon played its first show in a basement in Williamsburg in March of 2004.

Gabe spent the next year rotating members in and out of the lineup, until he finally recruited Conrad to play drums and Damion to play guitar in November 2005.

In April 2006, the group began recording in the Brooklyn studio Seaside Lounge, resulting in their debut We Feel Safer at Night. The album impressed Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, who then invited the band to tag along on a high-profile U.S. tour in the Fall of 2006. Jones resigned at the end of the tour and was replaced by Damion's brother, Grady.

They travelled to Britain in February 2007 to play their first London gigs, and they headed to Austin for SXSW in March 2007. Shortly after, in May 2007, the band signed to Ernest Jenning Record Co. The label will re-release their debut LP, We Feel Safer At Night as a deluxe edition which will include the three songs from their 2007 EP, Talk Faster. Damion Jurrens left the band in July 2007 and was replaced by two new guitarists, Rene Planchon and Drew Thurlow.

Takka Takka recorded a cover of Phil Collins' "In the Air Tonight" for Engine Room Recordings' compilation album Guilt by Association Vol. 2, which was released in November of 2008.